Border crossing information

Estonia joined the Schengen visa area on 21 December 2007. In general, there are no border checks on internal borders within the Schengen area. The internal border may be crossed at any time at points of one’s own choosing. Nevertheless, one must carry an identity document – i.e., a passport or ID card. Authorities of Schengen member states (police, immigration services) have the right to check documents if they deem necessary.

Upon accession to the Schengen visa area, border control compensation measures came into effect. Instead of the previous passport checks at the border, police officers check the legality of stay in Estonia throughout the country. For this purpose, mobile units were introduced and they may check the documents of individuals and vehicles and inspect the technical condition of vehicles.

It is possible that Estonia or other Schengen member states may temporarily reinstate border controls on internal borders. Temporary re-establishment of border controls is considered in the event of a serious risk to public order or internal security.

The temporary control line between the Republic of Estonia and the Russian Federation is the external border of the Schengen visa area. The external border can be crossed solely at a border crossing point between the Republic of Estonia and the Russian Federation. When entering the border crossing point territory, obey traffic signs and choose a suitable lane of travel pursuant to the markings (EU citizens or all travel document, according to vehicle category: cars, trucks or buses). European Union citizens also have the right to go through border controls using the lane meant for all travel documents.

The external border can also be crossed at the Tallinn border crossing point and ports that are open to international traffic.

The Narva-2 border crossing point (pedestrian bridge) and the Saatse border crossing point may be used for border crossing by permanent residents of the Republic of Estonia and Russian Federation, regardless of their citizenship.