European Travel Information and Authorisation System

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) is an electronic travel authorisation system set up by the European Union for visa-exempt citizens travelling to the Schengen area and to Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania.

ETIAS is similar to other electronic travel authorisation systems, such as ESTA in the United States, systems used by Australia, Canada and New Zealand and a system being developed by the United Kingdom.

The ETIAS system is planned to become operational in 2025.

The system launch will be followed by a six-month transitional period, during which no travel authorisation is required. The transitional period will in turn be followed by a six-month extension of the deadline during which, in exceptional circumstances, a traveller can cross the border once without a valid ETIAS travel authorisation.

European countries that require an ETIAS travel authorisation

30 European countries require an ETIAS travel authorisation from visa-exempt travellers.

  • Austria
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Luxembourg
  • Romania
  • Belgium
  • Estonia
  • Iceland
  • Malta
  • Slovakia
  • Bulgaria
  • Finland
  • Italy
  • the Netherlands
  • Slovenia
  • Croatia
  • France
  • Latvia
  • Norway
  • Spain
  • Cyprus
  • Germany
  • Liechtenstein
  • Poland
  • Sweden
  • Czech Republic
  • Greece
  • Lithuania
  • Portugal
  • Switzerland

    Visa-exempt third countries

    Nationals of visa-exempt third countries must apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation.

    • Albania
    • Antigua and Barbuda
    • Argentina
    • Australia
    • Bahamas
    • Barbados
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Brazil
    • Brunei
    • Canada
    • Chile
    • Colombia
    • Costa Rica
    • Dominica
    • El Salvador
    • Georgia
    • Grenada
    • Guatemala
    • Honduras
    • Hong Kong
    • Israel
    • Japan
    • Kiribati
    • Macau
    • Malaysia
    • Marshall Islands
    • Mauritius
    • Mexico
    • Micronesia
    • Moldova
    • Montenegro
    • New Zealand
    • Nicaragua
    • North Macedonia
    • Palau
    • Panama
    • Paraguay
    • Peru
    • Saint Kitts and Nevis
    • Saint Lucia
    • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
    • Samoa
    • Serbia
    • Seychelles
    • Singapore
    • Solomon Islands
    • South Korea
    • Taiwan
    • East Timor
    • Tonga
    • Trinidad and Tobago
    • Tuvalu
    • Ukraine
    • United Arab Emirates
    • United Kingdom
    • United States of America
    • Uruguay
    • Venezuela

      Applying for a travel authorisation

      Visa-exempt travellers must complete an electronic application form, using either the official ETIAS website or the official mobile app.

      Travel authorisation application fee

      The fee for applying for an ETIAS travel authorisation is 7 euros. Applicants under the age of 18 or over the age of 70 are exempt from the fee. Family members of EU citizens or third-country nationals entitled to free movement throughout the European Union are also exempt from the fee.

      Travel authorisation processing time

      The majority of ETIAS applications are expected to be processed within minutes. In some cases, processing may take up to 14 days if an applicant is required to provide additional information or documents for processing purposes, or up to 30 days if an applicant is summoned for an interview.

      Validity of travel authorisation

      An ETIAS travel authorisation is linked to a traveller’s passport and is valid for a maximum of 3 years or until expiry of the passport, whichever date is earlier. If a traveller is issued a new passport, they must re-apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation.

      Visa-exempt travellers with a valid ETIAS travel authorisation are allowed short-term stay in the territory of 30 European countries for up to 90 days during a 180-day period. A travel authorisation does not give anyone an automatic right to enter or stay in a country. Upon arrival at the border, the border guard checks the traveller’s passport and other documents and verifies whether the traveller fulfils the entry conditions defined in the Schengen Borders Code.

      An applicant for a travel authorisation has the right to lodge an appeal if their ETIAS authorisation is not issued or is revoked or annulled. Appeals are processed by the relevant authorities of the European countries requiring an ETIAS authorisation.

      The EU warns travellers about unofficial ETIAS websites, pointing out that while some of these websites are managed by honest companies, others might by operating dishonestly.

      Euroopa liidu lipp, kus sinisel taustal kuldsed tähed

      The project activities were funded by the European Union through the Internal Security Fund.